Five Ways to Know You’re a “Real” Seamstress


Real Seamstress
You have double of most haberdashery items.

I frequently leave my entire university sewing kit at work, because balancing a tote bag, my lunch and a toolbox on my 1950s Raleigh bike can be a little…shall we say treacherous? This week I was really in the mood to start making the Colette’s Aster Blouse when I got home and lo and behold- no fabric scissors, no pins, no measuring tape…oh wait. I still had all of those things because obviously I have somehow accumulated double of these things (quadruple in the case of the measuring tape).

Relatives, friends and strangers gift you their unused sewing supplies. 

The reason I have two pairs of fabric scissors isn’t because I’m made of money or anything. Come on, I am a student after all. However, I did inherit my grandmother’s sewing shears as well as the jackpot of vintage, silk thread. I don’t know if the shears have ever been sharpened, but they cut like a dream. My mother in law also picked up some old school needlecraft books for me and, let’s be honest, whilst all those Pinterest tutorials may say otherwise- not much has changed in the world of sewing since the advent of the sewing machine.

sewing books on shelfYou come home from your sewing related job. And sit down to sew your own project.

True, if ridiculous story. You would think that after the 5 hours of pattern cutting and three hours of overlocking I did yesterday I would have had enough. Turns out I’m either a serious masochist or incredibly stitch obsessed. Totally applies to any full-time work or study, by the way.

You skim instructions instead of reading them in great detail.

Not quite sure if I’ve mastered this one yet, or if I ever will, since no matter how many IKEA Billy bookcases I’ve put together, I still like to look at the instructions. Same with sewing. However, once you’ve put in so many sleeves and installed a few lapped, centred and invisible zips you can fly a little bit more blind. That is until.

You still make the occasional mistakes you made when you first picked up a needle and thread.

Nobody is perfect and sewing has taught me that we never stop learning. Every project is different and does require your full attention. But when your mind does inevitably wander…thankfully your trusty friend the unpicked is hiding somewhere in and around your sewing area.

Obviously this is only a silly little post and whether you sew 8 hours a day or 10 minutes a day you’re still a real seamstress (or sewer, or crafter or sewist…). What do you like to refer to yourself as? How do you know you’re a real…whatever? I love this article by Sewaholic on all the different sewing practitioner names!

Gruß und Kuss,

Fräulein Nina

Twitter Facebook Pinterest Instagram Tumblr 

4 thoughts on “Five Ways to Know You’re a “Real” Seamstress

Leave a Reply

