Move over, darling, there’s a new favourite blouse in town!

A Christmas blouse, that is! I’ve never met a novelty print I didn’t like and after my first toile of Wearing History’s Smooth Sailing blouse went so well that I even wore it to uni (shh, it’s definitely  a faux pas to wear unbleached cotton) I decided I needed one in reindeer, snowflake and any Nordic pattern known to man kind. Too bad I ran out of time and only have this bit of loveliness to show for all my planning!

P1090248Script.jpg

The pattern itself is a dream to sew and can easily be dressed to suit either the 1930s or 1940s. Since I have plans to start filling my wardrobe with a few more 30s goodies this suited me just fine. I’m dreaming of another one in crisp white with contrast red buttons and red top stitching at the moment. Although the blouse is recommended for the more intermediate sewer, the instructions are very clear and I’m quite certain that anyone could tackle it after a project or two under their belt. The only time I messed up was when I got cocky and decided to…ya know…stop reading the instructions!

P1090274

After going from never having sewn a blouse before I’ve now done three in a row and am finally filling a hole in my wardrobe that was being taken over by cheap and cheerful t-shirts. Amazingly this blouse fits without any bust adjustments thanks to the neat bit of gathering at the yoke. Future versions will probably feature more shaping in the waistline.

P1090243

Originally I intended to pattern match the centre front, but impatience got a wicked hold of me! I still think it works since the pattern is quite dainty. The other version of this fabric I have sat at home wouldn’t quite look as good since it features stripes.

P1090316

Wearing:
Smooth Sailing Blouse // Me Made
Poinsettia Hair Piece // Alternate Normality
Skirt // Vintage 
Shoes // Hotter
Stockings // M&S

I’m still struggling to get used to taking pictures that feature me in front of the camera. Perhaps time to sort through some self-esteem issues in 2016. How do you guys get over showing having to show yourself off along with your creations? 

Gruss und Kuss,

Fräulein Nina

Twitter Facebook Pinterest Instagram Tumblr

p.s. Photo credit belongs to my mum who’s work you can find over on House Boutique!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Move over, darling, there’s a new favourite blouse in town!

  1. I love this blouse, the subtle Christmas print is just so cute! This is one pattern that’s definitely on my list of ones to do, I always love the ones I’ve seen made up.
    In terms of photos, I literally hate having my photo taken and feel so awkward the entire time so you’re not alone. However, your photos on here are really lovely, you have nothing to worry about, trust me! xx

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cate! I was so glad to have some other Christmas fabric leftover to make a skirt this year.
      I am getting a bit less awkward at it, but as soon as anyone else takes my photo my face turns into mad squirrels!

      Like

Leave a Reply

