Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas to all you lovely people who occasionally drop by my little corner of the interweb. I’ll be honest and say that I’m breathing a big sigh of relief that 2016 is coming to an end. Personally and politically it has all been one great big pile of…dirty laundry! I know that this year hasn’t treated many people well and hope that the coming months bring us all some peace and happiness.

15722417_10202654565881494_586608079_n

I did do some Christmas sewing and was hoping to get some better photos than these pre-Christmas party poses, but ah well, it is not meant to be. It’s now in the laundry after yesterday’s family shenanigans and I don’t plan on ironing all those gathers into shape again before next year. Hopefully seeing some sign of life and sewing from me is better than seeing none even if the photos are half-hearted!

15730757_10202654565921495_33978932_n

The construction on this was super simple. Two big squares which were the width of the fabric (yay for selvedges not unravelling) and extra-prude length for yours truly. A lapped zip plus a waistband with some room for Christmas sweets were added as well.  Then I simply added some removable straps by hiding buttons inside the waistband. Hey presto, Christmas Bird Dorothy!

The coming months are going to get super busy for me at uni and I do hope to take you along with me as I embark on my final major project before being let loose onto the work world. Tune in if you want to see me making some 1940s underpinnings and a WWII ATS uniform. So much peach silk, so much lace, so much…khaki barathea. Jokes aside, I am very excited!

15750199_10202654565841493_554502641_n

Wearing:
Long-sleeve T-shirt // Lidl
Poinsettia Hair Piece  // Alternate Normality
Pinafore Skirt // Me Made 
Shoes // Hotter

Do you have sewing resolutions for the new year? I may take you along unravelling Colette’s Wardrobe Architect series for myself. Two things will be certain- 2017 needs to be the year of solid colours and will feature a foray into jersey sewing!

Gruss und Kuss,

Fräulein Nina

Twitter Facebook Pinterest Instagram Tumblr

 

Leave a Reply

